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Florida Department of Health 

Bureau of Vital Statistics 
www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

 

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

 

 

IMPORTANT: When you receive the marriage certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics, you MUST forward the 

certificate to the Florida Department of State for the Apostille/Notarial Certificate process. Please see reverse side for 

our online ordering option through VitalChek, our only contracted vendor. 
 

 

Applicant Information 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 

Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any vital record under false or fraudulent 

purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 

 

Applicant’s Name: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
    (Person requesting the record) 
 

 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________ Apt.#: __________ 

 

City: _______________________________________________ State: ___________ ZIP Code: _______________________ 

 

Phone (with area code): _____________________________ email: ________________________________________________ 

 

Relationship to Person on Record: _______________________ Signature: _______________________________________  
 

Information for Marriage Search  
 

 

Name of Spouse Prior to First Marriage: ___________________________________________Date of Birth: ______________ 
 

 

Name of Spouse Prior to First Marriage: ___________________________________________Date of Birth: ______________ 

 

Date of Marriage (If unknown, range of years):  __________________________________________________________________  

 

Place of Marriage (City/County): _________________________ County Where License Issued: _______________________ 
 

Ordering Information 

 

Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.  
                          Fee             Quantity 

First Certificate: $5.00  
$5.00 X 1 

= 

 

 

Additional Certificates:  $4.00 each  
 X  

 

= 
 

Additional Years to be Search:  $2.00 per year. 

(Required when exact year is unknown. Maximum fee is $50.00). 
 X  

 

=  

 

Rush Order (Optional): Rush orders are given priority processing and requires an additional 

$10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH”. Expedite shipping is NOT included. 

 X  
 

=  

 

Shipping & Handling Fee per application (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery) 

 

  
 

X 
 

 

 

= 
 

 
 

 

Marriage records originate from the Clerk of Circuit Court and are forwarded to the Bureau of Vital 

Statistics for permanent filing. This process takes approximately 60 days. If immediate evidence is required, 

please contact the Clerk of Circuit Court where the record originated.  

 Total Amount Enclosed 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

If you need assistance, please call our Apostille Unit at 904-359-6900, ext. 9006. 

A $5 search fee is included in all orders and is non-refundable. If no record is found, a certified “No Record 

Found” statement will be issued. 
Foreign embassies or consulates often require an apostille or notarial certificate for vital record certificates. The 1961 Hague Convention 

established the apostille as a form of authentication for its member states. The apostille certifies the authenticity of the issuing official’s signature. 

Countries that are nonmembers of the 1961 Hague Convention are issued notarial certificates, which also authenticates the issuing official’s 

signature. The Florida Secretary of State is the only designated Competent Authority to issue apostilles in the State of FL.  
 

Before ordering, we urge you to contact the nearest consulate or embassy for the country in which you will be using the apostille or 

notarial certificate to obtain their requirements for the vital record. 
 

Obtaining an Apostille or Notarial Certificate is a two-step process: 

If you wish to expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront  VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. 

VitalChek will collect your ordering information and credit card payment for both steps of the process. Our office will forward your vital record 

certificate via UPS to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the apostille process. Once the process is completed, the 

Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations will send the certificates via UPS to you. Please note, VitalChek charges an additional $7 

processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees.  

To order by mail, you must complete both steps separately: 

1. Complete this application to obtain a marriage certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.  

2. Once the marriage certificate is received, you must forward it to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the 

Apostille/ Notarial Certificate. Please visit their website at www.dos.myflorida.com or contact 850-245-6945 for information regarding 

their application, requirements, processing time, fees, etc.  

Mailing:  FL Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, P.O. Box 6800, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6800 

Walk in/Courier Delivery: Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, 2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810, 

Tallahassee, FL 32303. 

  

AVAILABILITY: After the ceremony, the marriage license is returned to the Clerk of Circuit Court to be filed and recorded. The Clerk will then 

forward the marriage record to the Bureau of Vital Statistics for permanent filing. This process takes approximately 60 days. 

Any marriages prior to June 6, 1927 are obtainable from the Clerk of Circuit Court in the county where the marriage license was issued 

www.flclerks.com.  
 

STATISTICAL PORTION/ELIGIBILITY: Except for the Social Security numbers, the marriage record is a public record and may be released 

to any applicant of legal age (18).  For Marriages prior to 1972, statistical information is only available from the Clerk of Court in the county where 

the marriage license was issued. Visit their website at www.flclerks.com. For Marriages 1972 to present, the statistical portion will automatically 

be included on the certificate, except for the social security number. The social security number may only be issued to an individual requesting 

their own social security number with valid photo identification. 
 

UNKNOWN DATE OF MARRIAGE: If date of marriage is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is unknown, specify 

the span of years to be searched (Example: 1990 to 2000) and include $2.00 for each additional year to be searched. Maximum fee is $50 

regardless of number of years to be searched.  

  

FEES:  Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. DO NOT SEND CASH. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or 

Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are 

nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found.  These may be refunded upon written request.   
 

OPTIONS FOR ORDERING:  

ONLINE:  To expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront with a credit card. VitalChek is our only 

contracted vendor. VitalChek charges an additional $7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees. 

MAIL IN (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY):  Normal processing time is 5-7 business days. If requesting RUSH service mark the 

outside of your envelope “RUSH”. Rush Orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders require a 

$1.00 Shipping and Handling Fee and are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided. 

Rush service for marriages within the last 60 days may not be available. 

WALK-IN SERVICE (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY): Visit 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am – 

4:30 pm. Photocopy certificates require the $10 rush fee and may not be available for same day service. 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO: 

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS 

ATTN:  APOSTILLE UNIT, P.O. BOX 210, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042 
 

Express Mail and Courier Deliveries to:  1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202 

 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:  www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.dos.myflorida.com/
http://www.flclerks.com/
http://www.flclerks.com/
http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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